From the Chair

Welcome to our school website. I’m sure you will find it enlightening and enjoyable. There has been a school in Pedmore since 1699, and on this present site since 1860! We pride ourselves in offering traditional Christian values, whilst embracing contemporary styles of teaching. There is a strong ethos of caring within school and our children leave here having reached their full potential, both academically and emotionally, so they can face the wider world with confidence.

As a voluntary-aided school we have a Governing Body which manages the school. It is made up of 12 members. ·  4 Foundation Governors (some of whom are also parents) ·  3 Parochial Church Council Governors ·  2 Parent Governors ·  1 Local Authority Governor ·  1 Staff Governor The Governing Body meet at least twice a term as a whole group and also has regular meetings of its committees.

The Department of Education has high expectations of governing bodies. They are strategic leaders of school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. The governors role at Pedmore C of E School is ‘to conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement’.

The governing body has to have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure it’s money well spent.

(Adapted from Department for Education, Governors Handbook January 2015 page 7).

Together with the Headteacher and the Senior Leadership Team, who are responsible for the day to day management, Governors set the aims, policies and future direction of the school. Governors are expected to make decisions that have the best interest of the school, its staff and children at heart.

The role does require a high level of commitment to the school, not only in the giving of time, but also in developing gifts, learning new skills and furthering expertise. Governors attend quite a lot of meetings, whether for Local Authority or Diocese of Worcester training or for dealing with the business of school. Each of these meetings needs to be prepared for. Governors need to read and evaluate the appropriate paper work and be prepared to contribute to and ask challenging questions of agenda items. The Governors’ role is not simply to rubber stamp decisions. Governors at Pedmore C of E School actively support the distinctive Christian ethos of the school.

The governing body of Pedmore C of E School meet together at Full Governors Meetings once a term and at regular subcommittees such as Teaching and Learning, Pupils and Personnel, Finance and Christian Ethos meetings, which also meet termly. Other committee meetings are called as necessary.

Governors also have individual responsibilities which mean they come into school to meet with staff members and most importantly the children. They scrutinise paperwork, analyse data, take part in learning walks, attend school events, canvass views of parents etc.

To summarise, Governors need to know the school well, have a clear vision for the future of the school and be prepared to work with others to make Pedmore C of E a place which enables children to learn together with ‘ happiness, respect, trust and compassion.’

Mrs Southwell (Joint responsibility for Safeguarding)

Mrs Perera (Responsibility for Safeguarding; e-safety)

Mr Yates (Vice Chair; Responsibility for Literacy; EYFS)

Vacancy (Ex-officio)

Mrs Yarwood-Smith (Chair of Governors; responsibility for Health & Safety)

Mrs Reeson (Responsibility for Numeracy & Science; School Council; joint responsibility for Pupil Premium)

Mrs Parry (Responsibility for R.E.; Collective Worship)

Mr P. Raybould (Responsibility for Additional Educational Needs)

Mrs Crees (Responsibilities to be decided)


Mrs Robbins (Responsibility for Environmental Awareness)

I. Reeson Governor at PedmoreTC
S. Yarwood Smith None
Vacancy None
J. Crees None
P. Yates PTA Treasurer
J. Perera None
S. Robbins None
P. Raybould None

Finance and Buildings

Mrs S. Yarwood-Smith

Mrs J. Perera

Mrs I. Reeson

Mr P. Raybould

Mr P. Yates

Mrs S. Robbins


Pupils and Personnel

Mrs S. Yarwood-Smith

Mrs J. Perera

Mrs J. Southwell

Mr P. Raybould


Teaching, Standards and Learning

All governors are invited to attend.

Length of Office

Mrs S. Yarwood Smith – 1.9.98

Mrs I. Reeson – 1.9.2000

Mrs J. – Perera – 1.9.2003

Mr P. Yates – 5.10.2015

Mrs B. Parry – 1.4.2017

Mrs J. Southwell – 24.3.2017

Mr P. Raybould – 16.1.2017

Mrs S. Robbins – 1.1.2018

Mrs J. Crees – 21.1.2019